If You Build It They Will Come

By the time I publish this the title of the post might be less ambiguous than it started out as, but then again maybe not. 

Today’s post is a little more critical than others mainly because it highlights something I have noticed as a bit of a trend recently. A specific occurrence of it would be from a match I watched not long ago. It wasn’t long into the match, just a few minutes really, and all that had happened at that point was some wrestling; exchanging holds, no more than that. Suddenly out of nowhere this one guy hits a big impressive looking spinning kick, like the one Kofi Kingston uses, and it caught his opponent square on the side of the head but rather than being used as a near fall it simply knocked the other guy out through the ropes and set him up for a dive to the outside. 

Now I understand that wrestling is always evolving, constantly changing what can happen and how impactful moves are. I’m sure you’ve all heard stories of back in the day when slams and suplexes were the finishes to the matches, and there has been plenty of talk in the last couple of years about superkicks. I also understand that how we structure what we do is changing. I always used to ask “why” I was using certain moves at certain times but I’ve heard several knowledgeable people recently talk about the need to think of “when” to do the things that get a reaction. My problem is that people see this in matches, where numerous hard hitting and painful looking moves get used, and they try to emulate what they see thinking that any move can now go anywhere. 

With this specific example, I happen to have been caught by this kick in a match, it caught me clean on the back of the head with a lot of force and although I don’t recall actually losing consciousness it certainly knocked me down, disoriented me and had me seeing stars. With that in mind it pains me to see someone using a move like this, executed beautifully, to simply set up a dive, and just a suicide dive at that. 

I think that the wrestler in question might have thought that there was nowhere else to put this move in the match but he wanted to do it so threw it in early, but in effect threw it away. It devalued the move and the wrestler doing it, his opponent was stood on the floor just shaking it off! It neither answered the question of why he was doing the move at that point or when it would get the best reaction as the crowd were so quickly distracted by the dive that followed it up. 

Here’s my view, and it comes from a lesson I learnt from Jinsei Shinzaki (aka Hakushi). The best moves you can do look like they hurt a lot but don’t hurt at all, the next best look like they hurt and do hurt a bit, the worst don’t look like they hurt but do actually hurt. If you have a beautifully executed move that fits into one of the first two then either save it for the end of a match or do it at a point where it means something so the crowd can either understand it or go “Wow!” at it, if you can’t do that it is OK to leave it out too!

Again please feel free to share this with others that might find it interesting or useful. 

One thought on “If You Build It They Will Come

Leave a Reply

