Am I Repeating Myself?

A shorter post this week to comment on something that I see used quite often and usually very well.

A shorter post this week to comment on something that I see used quite often and . . .

Well I thought it was funny. Just me?

In all seriousness I have a lot of time for repetition in wrestling, it’s a great way to allow people to pick up a story, establish a set of signature moves, or even set up a chant (Saint! Saint! Saint!). This post however is going to focus on a way to use repetition out of the blue.

Now I know that sounds like it doesn’t make that much sense but let me explain. The match I was watching had one guy going for a modified reverse exploder suplex, his opponent popped straight out of it, stepped away, came back with a clothesline which the first guy ducked and immediately hit the original move that he was attempting.

Now this type of sequence isn’t brand new or original but I like how it suddenly impacts the match. Often when a move is blocked it can be a while before you see it hit, if at all, maybe there will be 2 or 3 attempts spread out. However in this one it’s nice and simple;

“This is what I’m going to do”

“No it’s not”

“Oh yes it is!”

Once again this is one of those principles that comes with an overuse warning. If every match on the card is using it you will quickly lose the impact of the spot, similarly if you do it all the time people will get used to it.

Merry Christmas everyone.

A shorter post this week to comment on something . . .

Still nothing? Is thing on?

Leave a Reply

